Home Page

Foreword (by Desmond Tutu)

Walk-through of the exhibition

The Birth of the Bill of Rights (by David McQuoid-Mason)


We acknowledge with gratitude the contributions of the following, without whom this project could not have succeeded, in particular, Jan Jordaan, Master Printmaker, who printed the entire portfolio

Coral Vinsen: Convenor/Adminstrator
Terry-anne Stevenson: Concept
Dr Sabine Marschall: Text, based on information received from the artists
Riason Naidoo: Administration
Coral Vinsen and Lindy Stiebel: Editing

The Images of Human Rights Portfolio Committee:
Carol Brown, Joanne Deare, Jan Jordaan, Virginia MacKenny, Sabine Marschall, Carey-Ann May, Riason Naidoo, Prem Singh, Avi Sooful, Terry-anne Stevenson, Coral Vinsen, Annie Webber.

The Artists

Technikon Natal Fine Art Department

Participating Galleries
The Albany Museum, Grahamstown, Durban Art Gallery, King George VI Art Gallery, Port Elizabeth, South African National Gallery, Cape Town, National Museum, Bloemfontein, Pietersburg Art Museum, Pretoria Art Museum, Tatham Art Gallery, Pietermaritzburg


Amnesty International Members
Carol Brown - Director, Durban Art Gallery
Artist's Proof Studio, Hardground Print-makers, Georgina Hamilton, Philippa Hobbs, Prof. Robyn Jacobson, Paddy Kearney, Prof. David McQuoid-Mason, Mawethu Mosery, Riette Mostert, Prof. Pitika Ntuli, Elizabeth Rankin, Jeff Rankin, Prof. Alan Rycroft, Karen Schoonbee, Narend Singh, Jaya Wilson, Janette Wolfaardt.

Amnesty International
Bartel Arts Trust
Lawyers for Human Rights

Jenny Stretton: Catalogue Layout
Sue Bartley (Citigate): Poster design
Arthur Bozas: Photography
All information correct at time of going to press

Copyright © 1996Artists for Human Rights, 37 Earlswood Place, Durban North 4051, South Africa.

All rights reserved. No part of this material may be reproduced, or transmitted in any form by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of the publisher.

Web page design by Durbanet